ASTRO 402: "Teaching Earth and Space Science"
SYLLABUS FALL 2013 (PRELIMINARY)

First meeting Mon Aug 26
6:15* - 9 pm, HBH 223
Class overview; filling out of forms and pretest; distribution of Space Update DVD ($10); Overview of the Solar System; discussing dates for planetarium shows, labs, and campout; Overview of "Stellarium" software
Mon, Sept 2 (YES, a class on LABOR DAY)
6 - 9 pm, HBH 223
Celestial coordinates; Seasons; Ecliptic; orbits. Activity: Stellarium (Homework: celestial coordinates)
Mon, Sept 9
6 - 9 pm, HBH 223 and in portable dome BRK 250
More on Celestial coordinates, sidereal and solar rotation and revolutions, galactic coordinates
Friday, Sept 13
8 - 10 pm, Brockman 4th floor
Public Observing, campus observatory
Mon, Sept 16
6 - 9 pm, HBH 223
Kepler's Laws 1&2: ellipses (semi major axis, eccentricity, periapsis, apoapsis), speeds of planets (Homework: ellipse activity)
Weds Sept 25:
7-8:30 pm, McMurtry Auditorium, Duncan Hall (reception 6:30)
Special Marlar Lecture on Saturn, Linda Spilker
Mon, Sep 30
6 - 9 pm, HBH 223
Kepler's Laws 3: periods and semimajor axes; logarithms; plotting orbits. (Activity: orbits; Homework: plotting periods versus distance for Saturn's moons)
Mon, Oct 7
6 - 9 pm, HBH 223
More on Kepler's Laws; The Sun; Formation of the Solar System
Sat, Oct 12
9:30 am - 4 pm, Engineering Quad
Sally Ride Science Festival (participate)
Sat, Oct 12
3pm - 10 pm, George Observatory, Brazos Bend State Park
"Astronomy Day" (lectures and observing after dusk)
Mon, Oct 14
6 - 9 pm, HBH 223
The Moon (Activity: lunar size and distance); Review for Quiz; Observing, observatory
Mon, Oct 21
6:15 - 9 pm, HBH 223
Inner Planets: Mercury, Venus, Earth
Mon, Oct 28
6 - 9 pm, HBH 223
Review and quiz 1. Use the topics and terms sheet to review. You may use a double-sided handwritten cheat sheet. (does NOT cover Oct 21 class).
Mon, Nov 4
6 - 9 pm, HBH 223
No Class - delayed "Fall Break"
Mon, Nov 11
6 - 9 pm, HBH 223
Earth as a planet: Albedo, temperature and greenhouse effect; ice ages (guest speaker)
Mon, Nov 18
6 - 9 pm, HBH 223
Mars and Asteroid Belts, comets
Mon, Nov 25:
6 - 9 pm, HBH 223
Outer planets
Mon, Dec 2
6 - 9 pm, HBH 223
Dwarf planets (Pluto, Eris, etc...); Extrasolar planets; Class presentations
Thurs, Dec 5
6 - 9 pm, HBH 223
(optional) Review for Quiz 2 (Quiz 2 will be takehome)
Dec 13 - 15
at George Observatory, Brazos Bend State Park
Observatory overnight: Will overnight Friday night Dec 13 and/or Saturday night Dec 14 to see Comet ISON.
Last update: Sept 9, 2013